Graham Charles Lear
2 min readJun 16, 2020

--

I dont know about you Ian but we manage quite well on our state pension. I have three other ones and two private ones and my Army one.

I have not touched those others, it goes into the bank and stays there. I might touch it for a new computer or television now and again.

We eat very well, before the lock down we shopped twice a month in the food hall at Marks and Spencer and have a weekly shop at Sainsbury.

OK we dont have to feed children, however before lockdown my daughter was coming four times a week because her partner works from home until 6pm and kids being kids they disturb him.

So we would feed the kids all three of them and it would be churlish not to do enough for the grown ups so enough was cooked for all of us.

I know one thing since lockdown my bank balance has grown from not feeding them and all that on our state pension.

Difference is that I never smoked, and I drink moderately. My mess bill at the end of the month used to make my eyes water sometimes. But all that stopped when I retired, the odd bender now and again but thats stopped now.

I suppose my point is if I can do all that on British State pension then why can't parents who know how to get as much money out of our Governments feed their children properly. I know for a fact that many of them are on fare more money than the state pension because in my spare time I have helped vets to work out their money problems after they leave the army.

--

--

Graham Charles Lear

What is life without a little controversy in it? Quite boring and sterile would be my answer.